X-Men: Apocalypse casting

X-Men

Rumors have been floating that Halle Berry, Famke Janssen and James Marsden were going to be replaced in the upcoming X-Men: Apocalypse movie. I didn’t believe it, because of how X-Men: Days Of Future Past ended. It fixed all the mess that The Last Stand left and I was very happy that the original cast was coming back.

However, the director Brian Singer announced yesterday that a new generation of actors has joined the cast of Apocalypse to play the roles of Storm, Jean Grey and Cyclops. I don’t know wether they will replace the original cast or they will be playing younger versions of the characters, I hope the second.

I have to say that, although I prefer the original cast, I’m quite happy with the choices they made here. Check the casting for these mutants below!


Jean Grey - X-Men: Apocalypse

Sophie Turner, best known for playing Sansa Stark in Game Of Thrones, will be Jean Grey. I think she’s the perfect choice for a young version of the character, but if they’re really casting her for the whole movie, I would’ve gone with Jessica Chastain.

Storm - X-Men: Apocalypse

Storm will be played by Alexandra Shipp. I only know her for incarnating Aaliyah in her Lifetime biopic and she did a good job, so I like this choice as well. Again, if they’re going with her for the full movie I would’ve chosen an older actress like Lupita Nyong’o. Well I’d pick Zoe Saldana, but she’s already in Guardians Of The Galaxy.

Cyclops - X-Men: Apocalypse

Finally, Tye Sheridan will replace James Marsden as Cyclops. I don’t know who this guy is, his face looks very familiar though, but I haven’t seen any of his movies. I think James was the perfect choice for Cyclops and I can’t picture anyone doing it better.


I hope they’re going with this casting for a younger version of the mutants, because all these characters are adults in the comics and I don’t want to see teenage versions of them for the whole film.

What do you think about this new casting? Are you excited to see X-Men: Apocalypse? It premieres May 27 next year so we don’t have to wait long!

Leave a Reply

