The Hobbit: The Battle Of Five The Armies Review

The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies

Last night I went to the premiere of The Hobbit: The Battle Of The Five Armies. First of all I have to say I’ve never been a fan of The Lord Of The Rings. I fell asleep in the first two movies from the original saga and never saw the third one. I watched the first two movies of The Hobbit with a friend and I really liked them. I found them very entertaining, A little too long maybe, but both of them were really good for me.

As for the last one, I was really excited to see it. A friend of mine bought the tickets a week in advance and we went with a big group of friends to see it yesterday. All of us, except one, were really disappointed with the movie. 

I started really liking it, the beginning was a little too fast maybe, but I was enjoying the movie very much until the battle started. First of all, the visual effects were just horrible. They abused the use of CGI and in some scenes it looked like I was playing a video game or watching an animation film. Seriously, they were so exaggerated and evident that they took away everything from the movie.

Second, I don’t know if this was only in the Spanish version or in the original too, but they abused a lot of the evil voice over. I didn’t like it at all.

The worst part for me were all the WTF moments the movie has. Seriously sometimes I thought I was watching a B movie with monsters or something. When those giant worms came out of nowhere I just couldn’t resist to laugh. And then most of the orcs died just by being hit on the head with a stone, but the one who (SPOILER) killed Killi was invincible, seriously that part was just pathetic for me.

Not as pathetic as Legolas’ acrobatics, when he starts jumping from bridge to bridge when the tower is falling I thought of Charlie’s Angels and started laughing again.

The make up was terrible too, sometimes the actors looked like cartoons and Orlando Bloom looked terrible this time, well, I didn’t like how he looked in the previous one either. I love Cate Blanchett, but even her looked terrible. I don’t know, something was wrong with the make up or maybe they used CGI on their faces too.

At the end the eagles came out of nowhere and when Thorin kill the leader of the orcs the battle finished with no explanation or anything. I mean, you don’t see how it ends. When he kills the orc suddenly everyone’s happy and they’re not fighting anymore. I don’t know, maybe my mind wasn’t into the movie because all the terrible things that were happening, they were too distracting.

I wouldn’t recommend you to go to the cinema it’s gonna be a huge disappointment. My friends are loyal fans of TLOTR and they didn’t like it either.

My Rating: 60/100

Leave a Reply

