The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part I Review

Mockingjay Part 1

Two weekends ago I went to see the new The Hunger Games movie Mockingjay Part I. I haven’t have time to do a review so I’m doing it now. First of all I want to say that I haven’t read the books so I’m judging this movie for what it is, a movie, and not how faithful it is to the book, because, again I haven’t read it.

So, I really liked the first movie of the saga, I even got the DVD. I thought the idea was brilliant and the movie was really awesome. Then I thought I liked the second one too, but while watching the third installment I remembered that I didn’t like it very much. It was too boring and all the action happened in the last 10 minutes. 

I went to see this movie thinking that it was going to be good, because of the first two movies, but, oh God, for me it was terrible!!! Not only for me, I went with 8 people to the cinema and not one of them liked it, some said it was ok and some really hated it. I didn’t hate it, but didn’t like it either so I’m somewhere in between.

Sorry to all the fans of this saga, but I really think it wasn’t a good movie. Some people have told me that it’s super faithful to the book and whatsoever, but again, I’m judging it as a movie and it’s not good!!

The acting was good, it has a splendid cast, starting with Jennifer Lawrence and ending with the latest addition to the Hunger Games family Julianne Moore. I was very curious to see what they did with the tragic passing of Philip Seymour Hoffman, I read that the movie wasn’t finished when he died, but you can’t notice it, I don’t know if they cut something or what they did, but he’s in the film from the beginning to the end.

So, the problem with this movie is the content really. Nothing happened, and when I say nothing is NOTHING!!! I don’t understand why they divided this into two movies, this could’ve been told in 20 minutes, seriously, it was slow, boring and it has no serious storyline. I’m sorry but it didn’t say anything to me. It was like a 2 hour long spot of Katniss Everdeen.

I wouldn’t recommend it unless you are a fan of the books, I guess if you love the books you’d like the movie as well.

My Rating: 50/100

Leave a Reply

