Aaliyah: The Princess Of R&B Review

Aaliyah: The Princess of R&B

I’ve been waiting for this movie for a long time and I have to say I’m a little bit disappointed. I’m not surprised though. It’s just a pretty mediocre TV movie and Aaliyah deserves much more than this. Her family wasn’t on board with this project and that was a huge turn off for me, I wanted to respect their will but at the same time I wanted to know a little bit more about her.

I’ve said this before, I love Aaliyah and she’s one of my favorite singers ever, but she wasn’t as huge in Spain as she was in the US and the rest of the world, so I didn’t really knew her until she died. I don’t know to what extent this movie is true but that’s the main reason I watched, to get to know her a little bit more. 

I think Alexandra Shipp did an ok job portraying her. She doesn’t look much like her, but I think she was a better choice than that Disney Channel girl they casted first. The rest of the cast wasn’t really good, the girl that was supposed to play Missy Elliott was terrible!! I was surprised to see that her and Timbaland were nobodies until Aaliyah worked with them!

The movie had to many jumps in time that made it hard to keep up with the story, especially when all the R. Kelly thing happened. I wanted to know what happened and I didn’t understand much, all I know is that they got married, but they never divorced or anything and I don’t know how everything happened.

Another of the things I didn’t like much is that Aaliyah’s family has the rights to her music so they only used songs where she wasn’t credited as a writer and I missed lots of her songs. Especially songs form her last album. It bothered me a lot that her last album was barely mentioned in the movie!!

Anyways, I got to know some thing that I didn’t know before, but I think Aaliyah deserves a better tribute. Her music and legacy will remain forever though!!

My Rating: 60/100

Ps. Another reason why I wanted to watch it was that Wendy Williams was involved in the production and I love her show, I mean, who doesn’t love some Hot Topics haha, but I have to say I am disappointed!!

Leave a Reply

