Top 10 Horror Movies

Drew Barrymore - Scream

I really like Halloween, but I don’t get why people celebrate it here in Spain. It’s not a Spanish tradition, it’s just an excuse to get drunk and dress up. In Canary Islands we already have Carnaval to do that and to be honest it’s one of the best festivities we have!!

Like I said I really like Halloween and I like watching all the decorations in movies and TV shows, the costumes that celebrities wear and all that stuff, I like to watch it as an outsider and not celebrating it because it’s not part of my culture. So, unlike many others I prefer staying at home and watch horror movies. 

Horror is one of my favorite movie genres and I like all kinds of scary movies, from psychological horror movies, to slasher films and shark attack movies. I know many horror movies are very bad movies, but those I the ones I like the most, haha!!

I know I’m a day late, but to “celebrate” Halloween in my own way here are my Top 10 favorite horror movies!! I chose these movies not for being the scariest movies that exist, but for different factors that, in my mind, make them stand out from others films in the genre.

So let’s start with the list!!


The Descent

10. The Descent (2005)

This movie really surprised me when I first watched it and I have to say now it’s become one of my favorite horror movies ever! I love horror movies based on killer creatures and this one is really good because we have the elements of tension and suspense elevated to the double because the girls in the film can barely see anything and so do us viewers.

I also liked that all actresses were from different countries and they had different accents that helped me a lot while preparing the IELTS exam in London.

It has a sequel that was very good too, I highly recommend watching both movies, I really enjoyed them and if you’re a fan of this genre you’ll really like them!!


The Ring

9. The Ring (2002)

Everyone says that the original Japanese versions of horror movies are the best, but I have to say I always prefer the Hollywood remakes. This is one of my favorite horror movies ever and one of the scariest ones too. I don’t know for how long, but I had nightmares with this girl for ages!!!

I loved Naomi Watts performance and the whole movie was really really good. You can skip the sequel though. I only watched it once and didn’t understand it very well. It was very bad in my opinion, they should’ve sticked with the first one.

Btw, when I watched the movie for the first time, when Naomi finishes watching the tape the phone rang at my aunt’s house where we were watching the movie!!! True sory,we got so scared we had to stop the movie for a few minutes!!


Martyrs

8. Martyrs (2008)

This movie really impressed me! I was told it was one of the most horrible films ever because it had high levels of gore and I have to say it has very graphic images, but I really really liked it. The whole movie was very well constructed and it keeps you in tension until the end. And what an ending!! That’s what really caught my attention!

If you’re too sensitive I wouldn’t recommend it, but it really is very good and it’s worth watching!


[REC]

7. [REC] (2007)

I don’t get scared very easily, but I have to say this movie scared the shit out of me when I first saw it in the cinema. I don’t know if it was because being a Spanish movie it was more real to me or the camera in hand element, but it really scared me! I love zombie movies and this one is great!! It has an american remake called Quarantine, but it was very bad. Well, it was exactly the same movie and same dialogs with different actors.

In the second movie we get introduced to a religious theme and though I’m not religious at all and I don’t believe in God, I found it very interesting in the movie. The third movie was ok, very entertaining, but it loses the camera in hand element and is more like an action movie. The fourth movie premiered this Halloween and I haven’t watched it yet, it was filmed in my hometown and I have really high hopes for it!!


Insidious

6. Insidious (2010)

This movie was also very interesting to me! It has lots of scares, but the main element is fantasy and I really liked that! The demons were not so scary looking, but the topic the movie talks about scares me a lot. I really believe in astral traveling, especially while sleeping. Who knows what we do when we’re asleep. Seriously, I think this movie is very original and that’s what makes it stand out so much!

The second movie was really good too and though the story was closed at the end we can see we’re going to have a third one soon. I really can’t wait!!


The Cabin In The Woods

5. The Cabin In The Woods (2012)

I watched this movie thinking it was going to be another slasher film, which I like a lot, but it really surprised me!!! God, this is one of the most epic movies I’ve ever seen! I didn’t expect it to be this good and so different. I don’t even know how to explain this movie, but I’ll recommend it to everyone. Not only horror movie fans, but just everyone, I really really liked it!

Everything was so perfect in this movie and when I finished watching it I discovered Joss Whedon was involved in it and then everything made sense, haha! Seriously, if you haven’t watched it you have to do it, you won’t expect what it will turn into!!


Aliens

4. Aliens (1986)

I know the first Alien movie is one of the best psychological thrillers of all time, if not the best, but I have to say that the sequel was much more intense and that’s what made me like it more! There’s more action in this one and Sigourney Weaver‘s character Ripley turns into the kick-ass woman we all love!!

For the year it was made it had great visual effects and it got me on the edge of my seat for every minute of the movie! Again, I love the first one, but this one was more special to me. I also liked the third movie a lot, I don’t know why it got so bad critiques. And the fourth installment was ok for me too, they weren’t the best, but they weren’t bad either, I just liked them!


Scream

3. Scream (1996)

I decided to include just one slasher film (or franchise) and though there’re lots of really good slashers I had to go with Scream. It’s just the best horror franchise ever!! I love all the actors (Neve Campbell and Courteney Cox make the best team ever!!) and it has lots of celebrity cameos that I love, especially Sarah Michelle Gellar in the opening of the second movie and of course the Drew Barrymore opening of the first one!!

It was made to make fun of the already existing slashers and it became one of the most popular slashers ever made!! I love all of the movies, even the last one and I hope they make another one in a few years. I know there’re many other great slashers, but I’ll always have a special feeling for Scream!


Jaws

2. Jaws (1975)

I love shark movies. Like most horror movies, they’re very very bad, but Jaws, the movie that started it all, is quite good, in fact it’s one of my favorite movies of all time!! I feel kind of guilty because I love sharks, they’re my favorite animal, and this movie gave a really bad image of sharks and made the world go crazy and scared of them, but I really enjoy this kind of movies. It’s probably because of the tension you feel while watching them, especially the Jaws movies with that amazing score. Whenever that music sounds I put my feet on the bed, sofa or wherever I’m sitting or laying!!

I loved the first two movies, third was ok, but the fourth movie was just really really bad!!! Of course the first one is the best and it’s one of the best movies in history, but I think the second one is really good too and I have to say that it’s the one that scared me the most. Me and my family were watching it on TV when I was little and just when the shark bit the electric cable at the end the lights went off and I was scared as ever in my life!!!


The Grudge

1. The Grudge (2004)

And last but not least… I love The Grudge!!! Both Kayako and her son are, in my opinion, the scariest killers or whatever they are from every horror movie. I can’t stand the sound she makes and every time I hear it it gives me the chills, I hate it!! But that’s why I love this movie so much. I don’t believe much in ghosts, but I believe in the energy the dead leave behind so I take this very seriously and it really scares me a lot in real life too.

I first watched it just because of Sarah Michelle Gellar, but it turned out to be my favorite horror saga of all time. I think this is the movie that has scared me the most from all horror movies I’ve seen, especially the second one. The third movie wasn’t as good as the other ones but it was ok to complete the saga.


I tried to choose a variety of movies and not include too many of the same subgenre. Like I said, these may not be the scariest movies that have ever been made, but they’re definitely some of my favorites and some of them are very underrated in my opinion!

Hope you liked my picks!! Which are your favorite horror movies of all time? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

