Top 10 Animated Movies

Spirited Away

A few days ago I told you how much I love horror movies and that it’s one of my favorite movie genres, but my true favorite movies are the animated movies! I was thinking about my favorite animated movies and it was very difficult to choose only ten to do a Top 10, but I did my best to put some of what I consider the best animated movies there are and put them on this list.

I’ve always preferred traditional animation and I don’t like that it’s being forgotten nowadays. There’re not many new traditional movies today, everything is on 3D and CGI, which is great too, but I just prefer traditional, I find it more special, maybe because I love drawing and hope to become a good illustrator. 

I already did two Top 10s with Disney movies (check them out here and here), so I’m not going to include any Disney movie on this list. So, let’s start with the list!!


Sinbad: Legend Of The Seven Seas

10. Sinbad: Legend Of The Seven Seas (2003)

I’ve watched this movie many times and I think it’s very underrated. I think it’s very funny, has a lot of action and adventure and the characters are all great. I didn’t know until today that Brad Pitt gives voice to Sinbad, that should’ve gave the movie more relevance, but I don’t know why it isn’t very well recognized. I love it and all the monsters and creatures are great, plus Eris is one of the best villains ever, I really love her!!!


The Iron Giant

9. The Iron Giant (1999)

I went to Animayo (an animation, video games and special effects festival that takes place in my hometown every year) and I think it was Max Howard (a producer that has worked in many Disney and other animated movies) told us a lot about this movie.

I saw it when I was little and I really liked it, but then when I learned everything that went down behind the scenes to create this movie I fell in love! I love this movie and it is one of the most important animated films from the 90s!


The Prince Of Egypt

8. The Prince Of Egypt (1998)

This movie is perfect in so many ways, but there’s something that I don’t like and it’s that it’s too religious. It tells a beautiful story, but I have to be very skeptical about it because I don’t believe a bit of anything that’s written in the Bible, I’m sorry but I’m not trying to offend anybody, everyone is free to believe whatever they want and this is my opinion. Apart from that this movie is amazing. Like I said, it’s a very beautiful and entertaining story, the animation is great and the music is just flawless. I can watch all the end credits over and over just to listen to Mariah Carey and Whitney Houston‘s duet When You Believe.


The Pagemaster

7. The Pagemaster (1994)

As a kid this was one of my favorite movies, but then I completely forgot about it. Then when I was older I watched it one day because it was on TV and fell in love with it again. I love the story and the message of the movie!! All the characters are great, especially the books and I love the take this movie makes on each famous story they go through, especially the scary ones!! Many of my friends didn’t know about this movie and I went nuts when I heard that, I really love it and I think everyone should watch it! Many people remember Macaulay Culkin for Home Alone or for My Girl, but I’ll always remember him for this magical movie!!


Pokémon: The First Movie

6. Pokémon: The First Movie (1998)

I’ve always been a huge Pokémon fan, especially as a kid, I was obsessed!! I’ve seen most of the movies at least until the 11th or so and I liked all of them, but the first one was just so amazing!! I think it’s one of the first movies that made me cry, you all know you also cried when Ash turns into a rock and all the Pokémon cry and save him!! It was a huge event in history, the first Pokémon movie and it didn’t disappoint at all, it was perfect, brilliant amazing!! I still watch it now from time to time and I still love it like the first time I watched it, it’s just perfect!

The soundtrack of this movie is so amazing too! It has lots of great bubblegum pop songs from different bands from the 90s and also songs by some of the greatest artist from today like Britney Spears and Christina Aguilera!! (I couldn’t find the album on Spotify, but you should check it out!!)


Despicable Me

5. Despicable Me (2010)

This is the newest movie on this list and I have to say it’s one of the funniest animated movies ever made. The Minions alone are just the cutest and funniest characters ever, but then Gru, the girls, Vector, EVERYONE!!! They’re all amazing!! I loved both movies a lot, I think the second one was funnier, but the first movie was just perfection, I really loved it and I think it’s going to be a classic in the history of animated movies!

The soundtrack for both movies composed by Pharrell Williams is amazing too! The Unicorn Song is one of my favorite songs everrrrrrr!!!! And of course Happy from the second movie!


Titan A.E.

4. Titan A.E. (2000)

This was one of my favorite movies as a kid and it’s definitely one of the best Space themed movies ever!! I felt the urge to watch it while I was doing this post and stopped before I wrote this section. Seriously I really love it and I don’t know why it isn’t named in any list of best animation movies. The story is awesome, the characters are great and the animation is very well done.  Normally I don’t like the mix between traditional and 3D animation, but I think it was really good in this movie and gave it a great touch!

Btw, I just discovered watching the end credits that Joss Whedon was involved in the writing of the script, that explains why it’s so good!!


Shrek

3. Shrek (2001)

I know I said Despicable Me is one of the funniest animated movies ever, but there’s no movie compared to Shrek! I love and you have probably noticed I’m a little obsessed with fairy tales, and I love that this movie parodies every single fairy tell that’s been ever written. It has an amazing cast, especially Cameron Diaz, who is my favorite actress, and Eddie Murphy. I love that the happy ending is so unusual and has a great message like every fairy tale should have.

I think the second movie was kind of better than the first one, but the first one was the one that started it all and it was just so funny and so amazing that it’s the one I’m going to choose. The third movie was ok too and the last one was kind of meh for me.

The thing I like the most about the first one is the soundtrack, I can easily say it’s my favorite soundtrack album of all time and I don’t have to think about it twice, I really love it, it’s just perfect!!


Spirited Away

2. Spirited Away (2001)

I know everyone’s going to kill me, but this is the only film I’ve seen from the Ghibli Studio. I think it’s magnificent and I’ve heard they have many other great movies and even better than this one, so I’ll have to check them out!!

Anyways, I fell in love when I first watched this movie and though I may have not understood everything that was going on it really marked me as a kid. I still love it today and I really think this is one of the best animated movies ever done!


Anastasia

1. Anastasia (1997)

And the first place goes to one movie that is so perfect that it can beat some of my favorite Disney movies. I love this movie because it’s a modern princess tale, and you know I love princesses, and though it’s not a true story it’s based on real events that happened not too long ago. I love the animation, the Russian  and Parisian sceneries are stunning, all the characters are very well drawn and the costumes are amazing!!

Again, I love the music of the movie, I really think the music is a key point in an animated movie and I’m so mad they’re not taking it so serious these days. I love both movie versions and famous singers covers, especially the Aaliyah song, I miss her music so much!! But my favorite song is the one on the end credits At The Beginning. Unfortunately I couldn’t find the album on Spotify either, but this soundtrack is just perfect!


So, what are your favorite animated movies that are not from Disney? Let me know in the comments!!

Leave a Reply

