Top 10 80’s Smashes pt. 2

Michael Jackson - Bad

So, yesterday I did the part one of a list with my Top 10 music picks from the 80’s. Check it out here! I chose songs from the first half of the decade (1980-1984) so I could have more variety and promise to do the second part of the list soon.

Don’t wait more, here are the Top 10 Smashes from the second half of the 80’s (1985-1989). Again I only chose one song per artist to include as many different styles as possible!


10. It Takes Two – Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock (1988)

I became obsessed with this song when I was a kid because it was on the Coyote Ugly soundtrack. I’ve heard it in many different movies and TV Shows and I just can’t get enough of it. It starts to get a 90’s feeling so maybe that’s why I love it so much.

09. I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me) – Whitney Houston (1988)

This is one of the most classic Whitney Houston songs and sure one of my favorites. Though she was known for her beautiful ballads, I love me some old fashioned dance track like this one!

08. We Don’t Need Another Hero (Thunderdome) – Tina Turner (1985)

As I explained in my previous post, I’m new to Tina Turner‘s music. I mean, of course I’ve heard all of her hits before, especially this one, but it wasn’t until recently that I started listen to her music regularly and I fell in love with her. I really love this song and is one of my favorites of her. I haven’t seen the movie, but if it’s as great as the song I must watch it soon!

07. Rhythm Nation – Janet Jackson (1989)

I love Michael, but there’s only a few songs from Janet Jackson that I like and this one is one of them. I love it so much and it’s amazing how it has influenced in many of the female pop stars that we have today. Her music was taking a great direction in the late 80’s and early 90’s, and I don’t know what happened, but after her album janet. in 1993 she changed completely and not in a good way.

06. There Must Be An Angel (Playing With My Heart) – Eurythmics (1985)

One thing we can all agree on is that Eurythmics is one of the biggest and most influential groups of the 80’s. They are responsible for many hits, but I think this is one of their most memorable songs and it really defines the last part of the decade. It’s just one of those songs that everybody knows and likes.

05. Everybody Wants To Rule The World – Tears For Fears (1985)

This is one of my favorite songs ever. It’s been featured in many movies and I think that’s why it’s so recognizable to everyone. I sure has had a big impact in pop culture and I love songs that are able that! It clearly has an 80’s vibe, but I think this song could fit in any decade and it can be enjoyed by kids from every generation!

04. If I Could Turn Back Time – Cher (1989)

One of the things I love the most about Cher is how she reinvents herself every time she puts out new music. From her early singing days with Sony to her synthesized electronic voice in Believe, she’s always been an amazing performer. I especially loved her style in the late 80’s when she turned to a complete rock star and this song is one of my favorites!

03. Livin’ On A Prayer – Bon Jovi (1986)

Talking about rock, here’s one of the biggest rock anthems of all time. What I really love about Bon Jovi is that they have been able to stay relevant for three decades without selling their selves and their music. Sure they were bigger in the 80’s, this song and many of their other hits prove it, but they still put amazing music out there and they have also had many hits in recent years. It’s really impressive all they have accomplished.

02. Another Part Of Me – Michael Jackson (1987)

This was one of the toughest decisions I made! Bad is my favorite Michael Jackson album and I love all the songs on it. This one and The Way You Make Me Feel were my top picks, but I ended up choosing this because of Captain EO. Last year I went to Walt Disney World and when I saw the movie I was blown away. Michael was the biggest star that has ever lived in this planet and he’ll always be missed.

01. Like A Prayer – Madonna (1989)

Like I said in the other post, it wouldn’t be the 80’s without Madonna and this time she takes the first place! This is one of the greatest pop songs of all time and it has stayed relevant through all these years. It has one of the greatest impacts in pop culture and, of course, lots of controversy, but it made Madonna the official Queen of Pop and till this day it’s one of her best songs she’s ever created.

What do you think? What are your favorite hits from this amazing decade? Be sure to check out my previous post in case your picks are in there!! Hope you enjoyed reading and listening!!

2 thoughts on “Top 10 80’s Smashes pt. 2

Leave a Reply

