Top 10 80’s Smashes pt. 1

maxresdefault

I’ve been writing this blog for a few months now and I’ve already picked my favorite songs from two decades, the 90’s (check them out here: pt.1/pt.2) and the 2000’s (check them out here: pt.1/pt.2).

Though I didn’t grow up in the 80’s it was about time I did a list with my favorite songs from that decade. I love how it affected not only in the music, but in the fashion and the society.

Like I did with the 90’s and 2000’s I’m gonna divide the list in two parts, being part 1 the first half of the decade (1980-1984) and part 2 the second half (1985-1989).

Also, I’m only going to pick one song from each artist to have more variety and not fill it with Michael Jackson and Madonna songs only.

10. Heat Of The Moment – Asia (1982)

I’ve always loved this song! I don’t remember when or how exactly I discovered it, but I’ve been listening to it for many years now and I still love it so much. It may not be one of the 80’s most popular songs, but I really really like it and it deserves to be on this list.

9. Let’s Dance – David Bowie (1983)

I LOVE David Bowie and though I prefer his previous work, this song is in my opinion one of the most defining songs of the 80’s. He was one of the biggest stars of the 70’s and here’s where he started to become an icon.

8. Total Eclipse Of My Heart – Bonnie Tyler (1983)

I don’t know why I love this song so much, it really isn’t my kind of song, but I don’t know what it has that makes me like it. I’m not a huge Bonnie Tyler fan, in fact I don’t really know many songs from her, but this one has something very special about it and I love it.

7. Under Pressure (Feat. David Bowie) – Queen (1981)

Like happened with Bowie, I prefer Queen‘s work from the 70’s, but this collab with him is just amazing. Is one of my favorite Queen songs and I’ve been obsessed with it since I first listened to it. My mom has Queen’s Platinum Collection and I remember listening to it almost every night before I went to sleep.

6. Human Nature – Michael Jackson (1982)

I know what everyone is thinking. Everybody would think Billie Jean, Beat It or Thriller would be my Michael pick and that it was going to be the first on the list, but I really prefer this one. I don’t know if it is because the other ones are too popular and I prefer more unique songs, but I really like Human Nature more and that’s why I picked it.

5. Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) – Eurythmics (1983)

This is one of the most influential songs of the period, it has been covered many times, I especially like Britney‘s and Marilyn Manson‘s covers, but I also love the one sang by actress Emily Browning for the Sucker Punch soundtrack. Of course the best version is the original and it’s one of my favorite dance songs ever!

4. What’s Love Has To Do With It – Tina Turner (1984) 

I didn’t know much of Tina Turner‘s music until recently, of course I’ve listened to this song before, but now that I’ve gotten in contact with Tina’s music I’ve felt in love with it and I have been listening to it a lot. I really love this song!

3. Like A Virgin – Madonna (1984)

Of course this wouldn’t be an 80’s list without Madonna. There’s many many songs to choose from, but I think we can all agree that this one was the most popular song she had in the first half of the decade and the one that really made her stand out. It also is my favorite!

2. Time After Time – Cyndi Lauper (1983)

This is one of my favorite songs of all time and it’s one of the most beautiful songs I’ve ever listened to. I think Cyndi Lauper represents a lot the change on society that took place during the 80’s. Not only did she break the rules with her music, but with her style too and this song is the perfect combination of both. It’s just perfect.

1. Don’t You Want Me – The Human League (1981)

I’ve never paid much attention to this song until last year. Of course I had listened to it before, who haven’t? But it was last year when I saw The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty that I fell in love with the song and became obsessed. In the soundtrack you can listen to a very cute cover of the 80’s hit, but it’s the original the one I’m in love with.

So, what are your favorite songs from the first half of the 80’s? Did I miss any of your picks? Let me know in the comments and come back soon to see the part 2!!

3 thoughts on “Top 10 80’s Smashes pt. 1

  1. Pingback: Top 10 80′s Smashes pt. 2 | Drowned World

Leave a Reply

