Top 15 Mariah Carey Singles

If you’ve read my blog before, you’d probably know I love Mariah Carey. I’m going to be honest and say I’m not a long time fan, of course I knew her and had heard some of her hits before, but it wasn’t until five years ago that I started listening to her music.

Since then, I’ve been a huge Mariah fan and she’s become one of my favorite artists of all time, if not my favorite. I just adore her music and the fact that she writes and produces all of her songs is just really impressive. Add her angelical and captivating voice to the mix and you have one of the most talent women in music.

There’s been a lot of judgement and criticism to her lately, but I just really don’t care about what people say. And she doesn’t either. She’s the best selling female recording artist of all time and has 18 number one hits, she doesn’t need to prove anything anymore, so just shut up and listen to her music, a gift she’s giving to all of us and we should thank her she’s still doing it.

Who cares if the album sells are low? Who cares if the singles aren’t doing well in the charts? She’s got more money than we all could even think of and we should be thankful she’s still does what she does for us.

I’m sick of “fans” telling her of Facebook or Instagram to change her sound and do modern dance songs like all the other artists. HELL NO! The thing I respect the most about Mariah Carey is that she’s always been true to herself and her sound and she knows what her true fans like.

Like I said, I’ve only been a fan for five years and I haven’t been there through all of her career, but that doesn’t make me less of a fan, I wouldn’t call myself a Lamb, but that’s because I find that fan names the lamest thing ever.

Anyways, I love Mariah and her music is just amazing. So, for all of you who love her and those who doesn’t know much about her, here are my top 15 Mariah Carey songs.

15. You Don’t Know What To Do (Feat. Wale) – Me. I Am Mariah… The Elusive Chanteuse (2014)

I decided to include this songs, which is the latest single of her last album to give a little credit to the album. I know it’s not doing very well, but that doesn’t mean it’s a bad album. In fact I think is one of her best albums since the 90s.

14. Loverboy (Feat. Da Brat, Ludacris, Shawna, Twenty II & Cameo) – Glitter Soundtrack (2001)

I don’t know why everyone was so upset with Glitter. The movie was not bad, it wasn’t fantastic, but it wasn’t bad at all and the soundtrack is great! I love most of the songs on the album and this single is just one of her best Hip Hop collaborations.

13. I Still Believe – #1’s (1998)

This is one of my favorite ballads from Mariah. It’s just beautiful how she sings this song and I especially love her voice in this one.

12. My All – Butterfly (1997)

Another beautiful ballad and one of the bests in her career. There’s no doubt to why it’s a fan favorite and got her a number 1 peak in the Billboard Hot 100. I just love it.

11. Heartbreaker (Feat. Jay-Z) – Rainbow (1999)

This was her first Hip Hop collaboration on a single and it gained her her 14th number one, having at least one number one in every year of the 90s. I love it because it’s the best transition to her Hip Hop sound, she couldn’t have done it better.

10. Obsessed – Momoirs Of An Imperfect Angel (2009)

I love this song! Like her latest album, this one is very underrated too. I love all her singles, but this one is just perfect. I love the flawless shade she’s throwing in the song and all the Mean Girls references she added to the video. I just love it!!

9. Honey – Butterfly (1997)

This song was a transition to her new sound, especially the remix where she included the rappers to bring the song to a new Hip Hop level. I prefer the original version and I almost listen to it every day. I love it because it’s a very fun son and really easy to the ears and her voice, like always, is amazing!

8. Touch My Body – E=MC2 (2008)

This was her last number one and it’s one of her most recognizable songs from her last albums. I love it because, like Honey, it’s very fun and playful and it’s just very entertaining. It also shows her sexy side and the way she communicates that sexiness with her voice is really cool.

7. Vision Of Love – Mariah Carey (1990)

This was the first song she ever released and catapulted her to superstardom. With just this song she earned the first of many many number one hits and made people fall in love with her. Of course it didn’t had the same impact on me since I didn’t feel this song at the time in came out, but still it’s one of my MC favorites.

6. Hero – Music Box (1993)

This was the first Mariah song I remember ever listening to. Well, I didn’t exactly heard Mariah’s version. A friend of mine sang it on a High School talent show and I really liked it. So, when I started listening to Mariah’s music and I listened to this song in particular that memory came to my mind and it made me love the song even more.

5. One Sweet Day (Feat. Boyz II Men) – Daydream (1995)

This song has the record of most consecutive weeks at the top of the Billboard Hot 100 with 16 weeks. I love it because, though being a very sad songs, it’s very uplifting too and gives you the strength you need to keep going. I love how Mariah’s voice fusions with the voices of the R&B band and how they all create this beautiful sound.

4. Fantasy – Daydream (1995)

My all time favorite Mariah album is Daydream and I love it because it has so many amazing songs. From One Sweet Day to this one, the album is just amazing and this song in particular is one of my favorites songs ever. It’s a very happy and fun song that makes me smile and makes me wanna dance and jump and just live every time I listen to it.

3. Always Be My Baby – Daydream (1995)

Another song from the Daydream album that I love! From the lyrics to the melody and her voice, I just love everything about this song and it has become one of my favorite Mariah songs.

2. Emotions – Emotions (1991)

This song is just flawless! I don’t know much about singing, but it’s obvious how difficult this song is and many experts have said that is one of the most difficult songs to sing ever. I love her voice and the whistle notes she hits on this song are just mind blowing.

1. We Belong Together – The Emancipation Of Mimi (2005)

You knew this was coming right? This is the song that threw Mariah to the superstardom again after the critics she had for Glitter and Charmbracelet. Everybody loves this song and it gained her another record. Not only has she the record of most consecutive weeks at the top of the Hot 100, but she also landed the second spot with this song, staying at number one for 14 weeks in a row. Amazing!!

Honorable Mention

All I Want For Christmas Is You – Merry Christmas (1994)

I decided to leave this song as a honorable mention because, though everybody, including me obviously, love it, it’s a Christmas song and I only listen to it on Christmas. Another and one of her highest achievements is to have her own Christmas classic. No other singer has ever gotten that honor, not even the biggest names of music history. That’s just impressive!

What’s your favorite Mariah Carey song? Difficult decision right? That’s why this time I did a Top 15 instead of my regular Top 10 lists! Hope you enjoyed reading and listening to her music!!

2 thoughts on “Top 15 Mariah Carey Singles

  1. I really enjoy listening to the music of Mariah Carey, she has a beautiful voice and a great variety of songs. I think that my recent favourite is Vision of Love, but my other favourites are probably Honey and Always Be My Baby.

    • She’s got the best voice of today’s music scene and I love all of her music. Like I said in the post it’s really difficult to choose a favorite Mariah song, but all the songs you mentioned are amazing!

Leave a Reply

