Top 10 Aaliyah Songs + Lifetime Movie

There’s been a lot of controversy around Aaliyah‘s name lately. Lifetime is planing to do a TV movie about the late singer, but production has been put on hold because her family wanted the movie to be in theaters and not on TV, so they wouldn’t give them the rights of Aaliyah’s music. Also fans were upset about their choice, Disney Channel star Zendaya to portray her.

I have to agree that I don’t really like Zendaya, in fact, I don’t really like any of the Disney starts from today. I guess it’s because I didn’t grow up with them, but I find them all annoying.

I hope Lifetime and Aaliyah’s family get to an agreement, because I was really hoping to see this movie. Unfortunately Aaliyah was not so popular here in Spain and I didn’t know of her until she was already dead. I remember first heard of her when I watched her movie Queen Of The Damned.

I learned that she died in a tragic accident by the time I saw the movie, but I didn’t know anything more about her until a few years ago that I found one of her songs in a Spotify playlist and I became obsessed with her music.

Since then I’ve been a huge fan and she’s become one of my favorite singers. Her style was so unique and I like the evolution of her music a lot. I wish we could see were she would’ve been today.

Anyways, apart from her music and her tragic death I don’t really know much about Aaliyah’s life, I’ve heard and read rumors about her relationship with R. Kelly and stuff, but I don’t really know much more. That’s why I’d love this movie to really happen.

As for my choice to portray her I have really no clue, she was so young when she died that it limits a lot the list of candidates. I think the best option would be to hire an unknown actress so people don’t get too distracted from the story.

Another good reason to make this movie is to show younger demographic what a great artist she was and share her music with them, that’s why their family should stop complaining and give them the rights to the music.

So, to fill that wish to get younger audiences to know her music, here’re my Top 10 Aaliyah songs. Hope you enjoy, she was an amazing singer and her music is a gift that has to be shared!

10. Age Ain’t Nothing But A Number – Age Ain’t Nothing But A Number (1994)

9. Back & Forth – Age Ain’t Nothing But A Number (1994)

8. I Refuse – Aaliyah (2001)

7. Those Where The Days – Aaliyah (2001)

6. Never No More – Aaliyah (2001)

5. More Than A Woman – Aaliyah (2001)

4. Read Between The Lines – Aaliyah (2001)

3. We Need A Resolution (Feat. Timbaland) – Aaliyah (2001)

2. Try Again – Aaliyah (2001)

1. Rock The Boat – Aaliyah (2001)

Like I said, I love the evolution of her music and the direction she took, that’s what I included mostly songs from her last album. I think it’s one of the best R&B albums of all time and I highly recommend everyone to listen to it entirely!

Leave a Reply

