Top 10 Britney Spears Singles

Today I’ve been listening to Britney Spears music all day. It’s been a while since I give Brit a good listen and I remember few months ago I did a Top 10 with Britney’s non single songs, but I’ve never done a singles Top 10.

So, I decided it was time I did this. I mean, Britney has some of the most iconic songs of pop music’s history and she sure is one of the most important icons in pop culture.

So here are my 10 favorite singles by Britney Spears!

10. Work B**ch – Britney Jean (2013)

When this songs first came out I wasn’t feeling it at all, I was so disappointed at Britney because I was expecting a very personal album like she had announced and this was just another dance track with autotune, exactly what I didn’t want to hear. But, when I finally accepted that this is what I was going to get from the album I really started to love it. I think it truly represents where Britney is now and the direction she’s taken and I really really love it now. Plus, don’t you think it’s one of the greatest workout song of all time?

9. Boys [Co-Ed Remix w/ Pharrell Williams] – Austin Powers In Goldmember Soundtrack (2002)

This has always been one of my Britney favorites! I love everything about it and this remix with Pharrell Williams is just amazing. It also is one of the songs I like the most when she performs and the cameo she does in Austin Powers In Goldmember is just so funny!

8. Hold It Against Me – Femme Fatale (2011)

Femme Fatale was the start of Britney’s autotune era, I mean she had used autotune before, but this album was full of it. I did like most of the songs but it’s my least favorite albums from her. On the other hand it produced one of my favorite Britney songs! This single earned her a number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and I really like the fusion of styles she explores in the song. I like that she took a risk, but she’s always been a trend setter and this song served as a door opening for other artists to add dubsetp elements into the pop scene.

7. Oops!…I Did It Again – Oops!…I Did It Again (2000)

Talking about iconic songs, this is one of them, who hasn’t heard this song? Everything about it is perfect. The Oops! album was a transition between …Baby One More Time and Britney, she has some great bubblegum pop ballads, but like she says in this song, she’s “not that innocent”. What I love the most about it is the red leather catsuit she wore in the video and her performance on the 2000 VMAs, which is in my opinion her best performance ever. I just love this song so much!

6. Toxic – In The Zone (2003)

This is another of Britney’s most iconic songs and music videos. It’s everybody’s favorite and everyone has listen to it. It was one of the best pop hits of the early 2000s and it’s still relevant to date. Like I said, the music video is one of her most memorable ones and that diamond outfit is so iconic that many of today’s artists have tried to copy it.

5. …Baby One More Time – …Baby One More Time (1999)

This was the song that started it all. Without this song Britney would’ve never existed, I mean Britney the legend, of course she would’ve existed as a regular person, but she wouldn’t be where she is today. The thing I like the most about this song is that Britney took full control of the creative direction and the iconic music video, which is one of the best music videos in pop history, was all her idea and she was only 17 years old. I wish she still took control over her career like she used to do, her music would be so much better and her long time fans would really appreciate it.

4. Me Against The Music (Feat. Madonna) – In The Zone (2003)

Everybody thinks that Toxic is the most iconic song of the In The Zone era, I agree with that, but that doesn’t mean is the best one. What I like the most about this era is that Britney wrote or co-wrote most of the songs in the album and they were really great. I like the Hip Hop direction that she took with the album and this single was really my favorite song. She’s the first artist to ever get Madonna to collaborate with her and to listen to the Queen and the Princess of pop singing together in a track like this is just awesome!

3. Lucky – Oops!…I Did It Again (2000)

Britney has many good ballads, I love Everytime because it was written by her and it’s one of her most vulnerable and personal songs, but I just love this one more. I’ve been listening to this song since I was a kid and I just can’t get enough of it. It’s one of the cutest songs she’s done and I just love it. I know she has better pop and dance songs, but this one is just a personal favorite of mine!

2. Piece Of Me – Blackout (2007)

I’m sick of people calling a “comeback” every time Britney comes up with a new album. She’s never gone anywhere!!!! The only comeback she had was after those horrible days when she had her breakdown. It wasn’t Gimme More because at the point the song came out she wasn’t still in good condition, I love that songs, but after the 2007 VMA performance and that awful music video it only did harm her image even more. Her true and only comeback was when this song was released as a single and she won all those awards. It truly is one of her best songs and it describes her life and where she was at that moment perfectly, it was just the perfect song in the perfect moment.

By the way, the Gimme More video was that awful because her team wouldn’t let her use her original ideas and they came up with that crap. I wish all the footage for the original version saw the light one day.

1. I’m A Slave 4 U – Britney (2001)

Like I said, Oops! was a good transition from her good girl image to the sexy icon that we all know, bit it was this song the one that exploited that sexuality to the maximum and made her who she is now. The song, the video and her 2001 VMA performance with that snake are just pop culture history and made Britney one of the sexiest female artists of all time, the sexiest in my opinion. The think I like the most is that besides that sexuality she brought to the scene every time she performed or did a video, she never stop being the sweet and nice girl she’s always been and that’s what makes her so genuine and why me and all of her fans love her so much. This is to date my favorite Britney song and it’s because not only do I love it, but because it’s just one of the most iconic and greatest pop songs of all time.

Like I always say, this is just my opinion and you probably have different Britney favorites, I really like all of her music and there are many songs that deserve to be on this list, but I can only choose ten, so it’s very difficult to decide which ones should be included.

What’s your favorite Britney single??

Leave a Reply

