Top 10 Songs for the Summer

Last week I had my last exam and yesterday was my last day of classes, that means summer is finally here! Last night I was so excited that I created my ultimate Summer playlist on my iTunes and decided to show my top 10 songs for the Summer!

These songs are not necessarily Summer hits, they’re songs I like to listen to when I have my Summer mode on, at the beach, laying by the pool… Luckily for me I live in an island, that means I get to go to the beach whenever I want, and now that I’m totally free I’ll try to go as much as possible. Here’s one of my favorite beaches in the south of Gran Canaria, it’s called El Cochino and though sometimes it’s a little windy, I love it!

481365_499474883420874_1604127485_n

I usually go every other weekend to my grandma’s holiday house in the countryside. When I was a kid I used to spend the whole Summer there while my mom was working, but now I go when the weather is good to spend time with the family at the pool.

208769_499783066723389_1216603019_n

Anyway, I’ll stop talking about me and start talking about the songs that I picked for this list. Here are my Top 10 songs for the Summer! Find out below:

10. Angel (Feat. Rayvon) – Shaggy

I wasn’t sure what Shaggy song I should include, I love In The Summertime too, but this one reminds me a lot of my Summers at my grandma’s when I was a kid! The year 2000 was a great year for Summer music.

9. Slide Along Side – Shifty

This song came out when I started high school and I used to listen to it a lot. Since then I haven’t stopped, it’s always on my on my iPod during the Summer, and it’s already been 10 years!

8. Caught By The River – Doves

Lots of my Summer songs are from The OC, it’s always been my favorite show and one of the things I love the most is the music. Thanks to that show I have discovered some of my favorite songs and many of them are in my Summer playlists every year.

7. Brimful Of Asha – Cornershop 

I don’t remember when or how I discovered this song, but I’m obsessed! It’s been several years since I discovered it and I’m still listening to it every Summer. If you’ve read my blog before, you’d probably know that I love the 90s and this one is a perfect 90s Summer song!

6. We Used To Be Friends – The Dandy Warhols

I discovered this song thanks to The OC as well, but it became very popular for being the Veronica Mars theme song. I loved VM too, but OC is just my favorite show ever.

5. Stars Are Blind – Paris Hilton 

I know everybody’s gonna kill me for this one, but I just love this song! It’s the perfect song for the Summer and though many of you might dislike Paris Hilton and she can’t be considered a real singer, I really like this song and it puts me on the mood for a good day at the beach.

4. Earthquakes Ans Sharks – Brandston

Another OC song. This is one of my favorites, I find the lyrics very funny and the music just put me on a good mood every time I listen to it. Perfect for the Summer.

3. Sunny Hours (Feat. will.i.am) – Long Beach Dub Allstars

I discovered this song last Summer, but it’s one of those songs you know you’ve heard before and didn’t know the title, the singer or whatever. I sure remember listening to it before and since I discovered I’ve been listening to it nonstop. I don’t know how did I survive without this song before!

2. California – Phantom Planet

Of course the theme song of The OC had to be here. This has always been one of my favorite songs ever and it’s perfect for the Summer when you have your headphones on under the sun or just want to get the Summer mode on.

1. Pure Shores – All Saints

What a better song to listen at the beach than the soundtrack of Leonardo DiCaprio‘s The Beach? I loved this movie as a kid, but to be honest, I don’t even remember what the movie was about, the only thing that stuck on my mind is this great song. I just love it and it’s my ultimate song for the Summer, it just puts me on a great mood when I listen to it while I’m relaxing at the beach or by the pool.

So, what kind of music do you like to listen to in Summer? What’s your favorite Summer song of all time?

Leave a Reply

