Top 10 Bubblegum Pop Anthems

As I’ve said many times, the 90s is my favorite decade in terms of music, movies, fashion and everything. One of the best things of the 90s was the beginning of the new Bubblegum Pop music genre that was made popular by teen artists like Britney Spears, Christina Aguilera and the boy band and girl ban phenomenon at the end of the 90s and the early 2000s.

I loved this kind of music growing up and I still enjoy listening to it from time to time. Today is one of those days when I feel like a teenager again and I only want to listen to all these songs. So here are my Top 10 favorite bubblegum pop songs! find out below:

I decided to choose only one song from each artist, because the list would be filled by Britney songs instead.

10. 2 Become 1 – Spice Girls (1996)

I know Wannabe was the Spice’s most successful song, but I think this one fits better in the genre and it’s one of my faves from the british girl band.

9. Bring It All Back – S Club 7 (1999)

I loved this show when I was a kid! I knew all their songs and choreographies, but this one was the one that stuck in my mind forever.

8. Bye Bye Bye – *NSYNC (2000)

In Spain they were not as famous as the Backstreet Boys or the Spices, so I didn’t know about them until Justin Timberlake went solo. Since I was older I didn’t like their music as much as I would’ve done it as a kid, but I really like this one!

7. Upside Down – A*Teens (2000)

I don’t know if they were popular in America, but in Europe they were in every kid’s discman. I loved their cover of ElvisCan’t Help Falling In Love for Lilo & Stitch, but this song is just pure Teen Spirit!

6. I Want It That Way – Backstreet Boys (1999)

Who wasn’t obsessed with this song? Well, who wasn’t obsessed with all their songs. This is my favorite one from the band and sure one of their most popular songs.

5. I Think I’m In Love With You – Jessica Simpson (2000)

I love Jessica Simpson!! Like *Nsync, her music wasn’t very popular in Spain, not until she made These Boots Are Made For Walking. Then I discover her bubblegum pop past and I fell in love.

4. Ven Conmigo (Solamente Tú) – Christina Aguilera (2000)

This song was the song that put Xtina on the Spanish map, Genie In A Bottle did have success, but this one was all over the radio and all the girls at my school were obsessed. Especially with the Spanish version. I love it!

3. Come Clean – Hilary Duff (2004)

When I was a kid and starting my teenage years everyone was obsessed with Hilary Duff. Everybody watched Lizzie McGuire and everybody knew all of her songs. I’m so happy she’s recording a new album now and hope it has songs like this one. I think this song is her best song ever and many of my friends agree.

2. Crush – Mandy Moore (2001)

I’ve said this before and I say it now, I love Mandy Moore. Not only her movies, I think she has some of the best romantic comedies ever, but her music too. She said in an interview with Ellen Degeneres that she was embarrassed of her music past, but I can’t help but loving it! I couldn’t decide between this song, her first single Candy or any of her songs for the A Walk To Remember soundtrack, but I finally chose this one, it’s just teen music perfection!

1. Lucky – Britney Spears (2000)

I know everyone was expecting …Baby One More Time to be number one, but like it happens with the Spices, this song fits better in the bubblegum pop genre, at least in my opinion, and it’s always been one of my favorite Britney songs.

What are your favorite bubblegum pop songs from your childhood?

2 thoughts on “Top 10 Bubblegum Pop Anthems

Leave a Reply

