Maleficent Review

New-Maleficent-Banner

I just came home from the cinema. Maleficent was finally released and I had to go to the premiere. It wasn’t what I expected and I had some mixed feelings through the film, but I really loved it.

I really liked most of the changes they made, but in some aspects I preferred the classic Disney version of Sleeping Beauty. Still it’s great to watch both sides to the story.

Angelina Jolie was amazing as Maleficent. She looked gorgeous with those cheekbones and when she laughs she looks just stunning. I also loved Juno Temple‘s performance as one of the three good fairies, or may I say the three dumb fairies, haha. She was hilarious as always.

I had my reservations when they casted Elle Fanning to play Aurora, she wasn’t as bad as I thought she was going to be, I mean she’s not a bad actress, in fact, I think she’s pretty damn good, I just don’t see her as Sleeping Beauty. It wasn’t bad, but they could’ve casted someone better for the role.

One of the key elements of the movie is the time, it’s only one and a half hours so it doesn’t get boring. Another good thing is that being a Disney movie and being focused to children it is easy to digest and very entertaining.

The visual effects are very impressive and some of the scenes in the movie are pure art. I watched it in 3D and it was great, especially the fight scenes from the beginning and the end.

I’ve already talked about this, but Lana Del Rey‘s cover of the classic Once Upon A Dream is magnificent and it’s worth watching the credits just to enjoy the song. Listen below if you haven’t yet.

My Rating: 85/100

Did you watched the movie? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

