Top 10 Disney Movies – Part 1

10521400_720400931328267_1634529133_oI’ve been wanting to make this post for a very long time, but I didn’t know how to divide the Disney movies in two. I mean, it’s impossible to choose only 10 movies, all of them are beyond awesomeness so I wanted to divide it in two posts so I could chose 20 like I did with the 90s jams and the 2000s hits.

So I decided to divide them in centuries. This part will consist in movies from the 20th century, from Snow White to Tarzan and Part 2 will contain movies from the 21st century, from Fantasia 2000 to Frozen.

I’m choosing only Disney Classics so don’t expect Pixar or other Disney movies to be on the list. Hope you enjoy!

10. Tarzan (1999)

I’ve always loved this movie. It isn’t only a great story and incredible animation, everything in this movie is brilliant, especially Phil Collins’ soundtrack!! Good way to close the century!

9. The Sword In The Stone (1963)

When I was a kid this wasn’t one of my favorite movies at all, it’s one of the movies I didn’t watch many times. But as I grew up I started to love it. It’s super funny and it’s one of the most educational Disney movies ever.

8. Peter Pan (1953)

This was my favorite movie when I was a kid. I wanted to live in Neverland with Peter and the lost boys and never grow up. Unfortunately I did grow up, but I still love it and enjoy watching it as much as I did when I was little.

7. Hercules (1997)

I’ve always loved Greek Mythology and I think it’s because of this movie! I’ve alway been fascinated with all the Gods and Heroes that Greek history has and I still am obsessed with everything related to it, but my favorite Greek inspired movie will always be Hercules!

6. Aladdin (1992)

A regular boy from the streets who has a genie and a flying carpet and falls in love with a princess. Who wouldn’t love that?! Plus this is the first movie I remember watching in the cinema.

5. The Lion King (1994)

I know this would be the first choice for many many people! In fact it’s been officially voted the best Disney movie ever. I love it, but it’s just not my favorite. Like Tarzan, it’s a great story told with incredible animation and amazing music. In my opinion it’s the saddest one too. I know you’re thinking of Bambi right now, but that was just made to traumatize kids!!!! hahaha

4. Beauty And The Beast (1991)

This could have easily been another typical princess movie, but it wasn’t and I love it for that! I love how they told this classic story and all the characters are great in the movie. It has a very important message, I know that beauty is inside is a very cheesy message, but it is the truth and children will realize it when they star growing up.

3. Mulan (1998)

Probably one of the bravest characters Disney has ever created. This was the first time a girl was the hero in a Disney movie and I love it! Not only did she risk her life to save her father, she ends up saving her whole country. It was such an inspiring movie that it had to be on top of this list!

2. Pocahontas (1995)

I just love this movie so much! It’s the first and I think only Disney movie that is inspired by true events and, though it’s basically another love story, I just love the background it has. It also teaches children to love our planet, to not take it for granted and to see beyond ones problems to care of others.

1. The Little Mermaid (1989)

If you read my Top 10 Disney Princesses post, you already knew this was my favorite Disney movie!! I just love how Ariel fights to make her dreams come true. The movie not only teaches us that, it also teaches how we have to make mistakes and learn from them. I’m sure Ariel is never gonna trust an octopus ever again! haha Anyways, I just love this movie and since I love the ocean and everything that’s underwater this is the perfect movie for me!! Plus mermaids are just AWESOME!!

Do you agree with my list? Which is your favorite Disney Classic??

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Disney Movies – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Disney Movies – Part 2 | Drowned World

  2. amen for Little Mermaid! It is one of the first movies I remember watching. Such fond memories of myself and some of my *then* friends watching it for my birthday (I think I turned 6 or 7) and ever since then, I’ve loved it!

  3. Pingback: Top 10 Disney Songs | Drowned World

  4. Pingback: Top 10 Animated Movies | Drowned World

Leave a Reply

