Top 10 90’s Jams pt. 1

042512-music-remembering-lisa-left-eye-lopes-tlc-crazysexycool

As I’ve already told you, I love the 90’s! It’s my favorite decade for music and movies and I like pretty much everything of it. I already did a Top10 90s movies, so now it’s time to choose the best jams from that amazing decade.

It was the beginning of a new era for pop culture, Spice Girls, Britney, Christina… there were so many hits that it’ll be almost impossible to choose only 10 songs that defined the 90s, so I divided the decade in two like I did with the 2000s. Here’s the first part!

10. Baby Got Back – Sir Mix-A-Lot (1992)

This is one of the most famous songs of the 90s. I’ve always loved it and it’s a lot of fun! I especially like it because that episode of Friends when Ross and Rachel sing it to make Emma laugh.

9. You Gotta Be – Des’ree (1994)

I was just a baby in 1994, I was 3 years old, but one of the songs I remember the most of the whole 90s decade is this one. I love this song and I get very excited every time I listen to it!

8. Two Princes – Spin Doctors (1993)

This is one of those songs that get stuck in your head for days after you listen to it only once! I loved it back when I was a kid and I still love it now. It’s one of the biggest songs of the 90s.

7. Halcyon + On + On – Orbital (1992)

One of the things I love the most about the 90s is that it has great songs from every different genres, it wasn’t only about pop music. I’ve always loved this ambient house song by Orbital since I discovered it in the soundtracks of Hackers and Mean Girls. It is one of my favorite songs ever!

6. Gangsta’s Paradise (Feat. L.V.) – Coolio (1995)

The 90s was very influenced by hip hop and in my opinion this is the song that best describes that hip hop era. I think everyone remembers this song and it is still one of my favorite rap songs!

5. Wonderwall – Oasis (1995)

Everyone loves this song, right? It’s Oasis’ biggest song ever and they have many really good songs. I think everyone knows the lyrics to this song, you’ve been listening to it everywhere for almost ten years. Even today it’s still used in many commercials, on the radio and everywhere! This is one of the best songs ever and you know it!

4. Don’t Speak – No Doubt (1995)

This is No Doubt’s biggest hit and one of the biggest 90s anthems. Though I prefer them in the 2000s, I can’t deny I love this songs and many songs from that album. Everyone can relate to this song and it’s one of the best rock ballads ever!

3. Waterfalls – TLC (1995)

R&B was very big in the 90s too and I think we can all agree that TLC were the best R&B act of the decade. They had so many hits, but Waterfalls is the one we’ll always love and remember. RIP Lisa “Left Eye” Lopes.

2. Zombie – The Cranberries (1994)

The Cranberries were, are and will always be one of my favorite rock bands. I love Dolores O’Riordan voice and all the amazing songs they wrote. It was difficult to choose only one song from the Irish band, because I love all their songs, but it’s obvious that this is their biggest anthem!

1. Emotions – Mariah Carey (1991)

This was the most difficult to choose! Mariah had so many number 1s that I could fill the top 10 only with her songs. I chose this one because of course it’s one of my favorites, but it also is the most difficult song to sing and I love all the whistle notes she sings here. I also love all the live performances she’s given of the song and it is just amazing! Her voice is just perfect and I love the control she has to change from note to note and form high to low!

4 thoughts on “Top 10 90’s Jams pt. 1

  1. There are some really great song choices here. Gangstaz Paradise by Coolio and You Gotta Be by Des’ree are songs that I love listening. The 90s was an amazing era for music.

  2. Pingback: Top 10 Disney Movies – Part 1 | Drowned World

  3. Pingback: Top 10 80′s Smashes pt. 1 | Drowned World

Leave a Reply

