Top 10 Hits from the 2000s pt. 1

Brit

One of the things I miss the most from the 2000s is the music. Especially in the beginning of the decade. To me, now all the music sounds alike and there are no big hits like in the past. Now everyone can get a number 1, even if the song is about a dog or a cat.

I’ve been listening to a lot of songs from the past decade lately and I decided to do a Top10 with my favorites. I will include only one song from every artists, because if I chose various songs, the whole list would be filled with Britney songs. So here it is!!

It was very difficult to choose only 10 songs from a whole decade, so I decided to include songs from the years 2000 to 2005. I will do another list with the other half of the decade.

10. I Can’t Get You Out Of My Head – Kylie Minogue (2001)

When you think of Kylie this is the first song that comes to your mind and you know it’ll get stuck in your head for days. One thing about all these hits is that they have great music videos and the video for this song was amazing. That white dress with the infinite neckline and a hoodie is legendary.

9. Jenny From The Block (Feat. Styles & Jadakiss) – Jennifer Lopez (2002)

I have the same problem with JLo as I have with Shakira. I used to love her music, but now all she does is crap. At least I can still enjoy her old hits like this one! Who doesn’t love this song? It’s for sure her best one yet and I wish she was still doing music like this and get rid of Pitbull.

8. Dirrty (Feat. Redman) – Christina Aguiler (2002)

This was the beginning of Xtina! I’ve always said that Stripped is her best album yet and though it had better songs than this one, Dirrty is the one everyone remembers. Why? Just watch the music video! It’s one of the most provocative pop videos and for the time it was very sexual. If it was released today, I’m sure it wouldn’t cause such controversy as it did when it came out.

7. Music – Madonna (2000)

It’s obvious that Madonna has dominated the pop music industry since she first came out, but she let other female superstars shine with her in this decade. Still she had amazing albums and Music is my favorite one of them. There are great songs on the album, but the one everyone remembers and dances to is this one! The video features Ali G and Madonna as a cartoon character, it’s one of my favorite videos of her too!

6. Hollaback Girl – Gwen Stefani (2004)

Gwen Stefani is one of my favorite female singers and it’s because of songs like this that I like her so much. This song sin not only my favorite one of her, but one of my favorite songs ever! I love every time I listen to it and I never get bored of it. I just can’t get enough of this song!

5. Since U Been Gone – Kelly Clarkson (2004)

This song was my jam and everyone else’s too! And it still is! This is Kelly’s best song ever and she has a few amazing songs! This song can just resume the music of this decade and I love it so much! It’s also one of the most empowering breakup songs ever and I’m sure everyone is as obsessed with it as I am.

4. Where Is The Love? – The Black Eyed Peas (2003)

Again, another band that sold their selves! They were so good at the beginning and now all they do is crap! Will.i.am is one of the artists that I blame for the crap we listen to now. Elephunk and Monkey Business were so good and then they came with all that electronic crappy music. I was so disappointed with them!! But hey, we can still enjoy great songs like this! This was the anthem for a whole generation.

3. Crazy In Love (Feat. Jay-Z) – Beyoncé (2003)

Who doesn’t love this song? You know it gets you crazy! This is the biggest song Beyoncé has ever done and though she’s got many iconic songs, this will always be my favorite! It’s just perfection. The video is also perfection. Everything is perfection in this song!

2. Toxic – Britney Spears (2004)

It was so difficult to decide which Britney song to include! She’s got so many hits on this era that it was almost impossible! I chose Toxic because I think it’s her most iconic song and it also has a great music videos. All her songs are iconic, but this one is one of people’s favorites. Like I said, it has an amazing music video and I love all the costumes she wears, especially the diamonds one!

1. We Belong Together – Mariah Carey (2005)

Mariah may have been the queen of the 90s, but she proved everyone that her reign hadn’t finished yet when she released her album The Emancipation Of Mimi in 2005. After a movie and an album that flopped, this was one of the biggest comebacks of music history and this song stood at number 1 for 14 weeks, being the second longest song to be at number 1. Do you know which song is first? Mariah’s One Sweet Day! It stood at number 1 for 16 weeks. She’s the queen of the hot 100 and everyone knows that!

Hope you enjoyed my list! There were three songs that I wanted to include, but I couldn’t remove the ones that I have chosen! These songs are: Complicated by Avril Lavigne, Feel by Robbie Williams and Cry Me A River by Justin Timberlake.

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Hits from the 2000s pt. 1

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Disney Movies – Part 1 | Drowned World

  2. Pingback: Top 10 80′s Smashes pt. 1 | Drowned World

Leave a Reply

